BLEND BLOG

Back to Blog

Total Solar Eclipse 360˚ Video Livestream 2017

James King-Thompson / almost 5 years ago

Today Blend Media is excited to be involved in the 360˚ video live streaming of the much anticipated total eclipse of 2017 where the Moon will be passing in front of the Sun. Blend Media has been working with NASA and Facebook to deliver these unique experiences.


The total solar eclipse will first be seen at Lincoln Beach, Oregon at 9:05 PDT (16:05 GMT; 17:05 BST), with totality beginning at 10:16 PDT (17:16 GMT; 18:16 BST). This is the first total solar eclipse to make landfall exclusively in the United States since 1776! The areas where you will be able to see the total eclipse, otherwise known as the ‘path of totality’, will be in: Idaho, Wyoming, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. This magical occurrence will last up to two minutes and 40 seconds.

"Blend Media creators will be capturing this spectacular phenomenon from two locations in the US"

360˚ video creators sourced from the Blend Media network will be capturing this spectacular phenomenon from two locations in the US. One of our expert creators, William Briscoe, known for his eminent 360˚ time-lapses of the Milky Way and the Northern Lights, will be capturing an epic 360˚ video time-lapse and real-time of the total eclipse. William has specially travelled to Idaho to film this rare occasion. William’s content has been licensed to a wide-range of household brands and one of his 360˚ videos has the world’s highest engagement metrics of all time!

The second creator who will be 360˚ video live streaming the eclipse will be Relativity VR, a new addition to our talented creator network. Amazingly, Relativity VR will be directly 360˚ video live streaming to the NASA Facebook page from Charleston, South Carolina. The SVP of Commercial Partnerships, Greg Bond, will be working on ground in Charleston with Relativity VR to ensure everything goes to plan. You can also safely view the 360˚ video livestream on Blend Media’s 360 Videos page. Thanks to Facebook’s new 360˚ video live streaming features you will also be able to experience the eclipse in crystal clear, 4K resolution. Set your alarms, you don’t want to miss this!

More on 360˚ video live streaming by Blend Media:

5 top tips for your first Facebook 360˚ video livestream

Helicopters, Beaches and Magic: Welcome to Blend Media and Facebook’s Weekend of Live 360˚

Al’s 360˚ Video Adventures: The Rebirth of Live Streaming